The Easiest Supper in the World

Baked beans on toast…

OK not that easy.

Mushrooms with Goats Cheese

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a great recipe with only 5 ingredients and is great for a mid-week meal. My mum used to make this when I was little but olives were something I didn’t like until my teens, I actually trained myself to like them by forcing them down at every opportunity… now I can’t get enough!

Buy big deep mushrooms, they will act as a bowl for the cheese and olives and their thickness gives a lovely meaty bite.

Mum always used a goats cheese log with a skin on the outside for this, it has the perfect combination of ooze and staying power, perfect for grilling and baking. You can buy a chunk from the deli and slice it into portions yourself or if you’re buying from the supermarket 1 pre-packaged round will just serve 2. I haven’t put exact measurements with this because I do the whole thing by eye and what is handy, also you can adjust to your taste, more olives, less goats cheese… just try it and decide.

I recently taught this to a friend who  does.not.cook.  She found the whole thing very satisfying as it requires so little preparation and time. She mastered it in one go.

Mushrooms with Goats Cheese

2 large portobello mushrooms

enough goats cheese to top each mushroom with a 1cm  slice

a handful of kalamata olives

a handful of pine nuts

butter

pepper

Serves 2

Pre heat your oven to gas mark 3 (180 degrees)

Gently pull the stalk out of the centre of the mushroom (I cup the mushroom cap in my hand and gently twist and squeeze the stalk, don’t pull or bend as this may split the mushroom) and place them, as little mushroom bowls,  in an oven proof dish.

Dot the inside of the mushroom cap with little flecks of butter

De-stone and finely chop your kalamata olives and divide between the mushrooms

With a serrated knife, slice your goats cheese into even round portions and put on top of the olive mixture.

Sprinkle with a little olive oil and freshly ground pepper  and put in the oven for 15-20 minutes until mushrooms are cooked and the cheese is browning lightly and oozy at the edges. In the last 5 minutes, scatter over some pine nuts to lightly toast.

Serve this with a crunchy salad, watercress, beetroot leaves and roasted seeds would be good, and some crusty bread.

3 Comments

Filed under Cheese, Lunch, Recipes, Supper, vegetables, Vegetarian

3 responses to “The Easiest Supper in the World

  1. Juliet Harvey

    Hello Anna, how nice to see an old family favourite! I used to use tapenade instead of whole olives which was even quicker-it’s a dark olive paste in a jar which most good supermarkets stock, and I toasted the pine nuts first-they burn really quickly so you need to keep an eye on them-because then you can toast both sides. I also placed the mushrooms in a little bath and then shook some Maggi (remember that?) in so that you had a thin sort of gravy. Lovely with mashed potato! How about my Sticky Toffee Pudding for afters?
    mum xx

  2. This is my dinner tonight, yippee! I’m using Tapenade like your mum suggests (i’m a bit lazy to chop olives), brie (cos it’s handy) and I’ve put a few thin slices of red onion on the top with my pine nuts. It’s de-lish. Thanks AC (and your marvellous mum!)

    ST x

Leave a Reply

